News

28.02.2016 - 16:54

Q.com article in the „Physik in unserer Zeit“

A recent open-access article by research partners from the BMBF Q.com Research Network project entitled "Sichere Kommunikation per Quantenrepeater" is published in "Physik in unserer Zeit", which reports on the current state and the main challenges in this field.

Read more...

12.12.2015 - 12:00

3rd OCL-TP Workshop

On 10-11th December, the 3rd International Workshop between the "Optical Communication Lab" and the Department "Technological Physics" took place under framework of long-term cooperation agreement between the Israel Institute of Technology and the University of Kassel.

Read more...

23.07.2015 - 16:54

OCL-TP Workshop

On 22-23rd July, the 2nd International Workshop between the "Optical Communication Lab" and the Department "Technological Physics" took place under framework of long-term cooperation agreement between the Israel Institute of Technology and the University of Kassel.

Read more...

Nano Optics

Group Members

Group Leader:  Mohamed Benyoucef
PhD Students:  Andrei Kors, Patrick Krawiec, Matusala Yacob, Muhammad Usman
   

Objectives

The research group focuses on the development of novel and advanced quantum architectures fabricated on Si, GaAs, (flat and pre-patterned) and InP substrates using molecular beam epitaxy and investigated their specific aspects of quantum optics. The first is considered to be as one of the key technologies combining the best of both materials leading to a highly versatile hybrid photonics platform which opens the way to large scale photonic integration; this could allow a direct combination of photonics and electronics on the same chip. The later could allow the implementation of efficient single-photon sources for long-distance quantum information.

 

The emphasis is on the fabrication (growth and processing) and studies the fundamental structural and quantum optical properties of the single quantum nano-architectures. Integration of III-V semiconductor light sources with silicon, fabrication and characterization of microcavities (e.g., photonic crystal) in combination with integrated quantum dots and processing of nanostructured surfaces for optical devices.

Projects

BMBF-Project "Q.com"

Research Activities

  • Epitaxy growth of semiconductor nanostructures on different substrates using MBE-system

  • Development of single-photon sources at telecom wavelengths for long-distance quantum communication

  • Development of telecom quantum dot emission for spin storage

  • Integration of single InA/GaAs core-shell quantum dots in silicon

  • Processing of nanostructured surfaces for the realization of deterministic optical devices

  • Fabrication and investigation of microcavity structures (e.g., pillar cavities, photonic crystals)

  • Studies the structural properties of self-assembled quantum dots

  • Studies light-matter interaction at the nanoscale of solid-state quantum systems

 

 InP-based quantum dots:

(a) µ-PL spectrum from single InP-based quantum dot (QD). The inset shows the 2x2 µm2 2D AFM image of low density QDs. (b) Single-photon emission at telecom wavelengths from single InP-based QDs (in cooperation with Uni. Stuttgart). (c) Coherent properties of single InP-based

(a) µ-PL spectrum from single InP-based quantum dot (QD). The inset shows the 2x2 µm2 2D AFM image of low density QDs. (b) Single-photon emission at telecom wavelengths from single InP-based QDs (in cooperation with Uni. Stuttgart). (c) Coherent properties of single InP-based QDs (in cooperation with Uni. Paderborn).  (d) The measured electron (full squares) and hole (open circles) g-factors for QDs emitting at telecom wavelengths (in cooperation with TU Dortmund). 

 
Literature:

 

 InP-based photonic crystal microcavities:


(a) μ-PL spectra of L3 PhC microcavity taken at 10 K (blue line) and 300 K (red line). Inset: high-resolution μ-PL spectrum of the fundamental mode M1with quality factor of 8700. (b) µ-PL spectra: black line without polarization, red line with horizontal polarization and blue line with vertical polarization. Insets: SEM image of the L3 PhC cavity and polar plot of cavity modes intensities as a function of polarization angle. (c) µ-PL spectra of a single QD, showing X and XX emission lines. (d) X and XX PL intensities as a function of laser excitation power. (e) X and XX transitions recorded at 0° (red) and 90°(black) polarization angles, showing vanishing fine-structure splitting.


Literature:


Silicon-based quantum dots:




Left: InAs QDs embedded in silicon matrix (in cooperation with PDI Berlin). Right: Light emission from single inAs/GaAs core-shell QDs directly grown on silicon.

Literature:

 

  GaAs-based quantum dots:


 

(a & b) Single-photon emission and X lifetime from single QD grown by droplet epitaxy (in cooperation with HU Berlin). (c) Quality
factor enhancement in coupled resonators (in cooperation with Uni. Magdeburg and IFW Dresden).

 

Literature:

 

   

Site-controlled quantum dots on pre-patterned GaAs and silicon substrates:


Left: Site-controlled QDs on GaAs substrates. Right: III-V nanostructures localized in the patterned silicon nanoholes.


  Literature:

 

© INA 2017. Version: 22.06.2017 - Impressum | Sitemap | RSS-Feed

Aktuelles

13.10.2017 - 12:00

6. OCL-TP Workshop

Vom 30. - 31. Oktober fand der 6. Internationale Workshop zwischen dem "Optical Communication Lab" und dem Fachgebiet "Technische Physik", im Rahmen eines langfristigen Kooperationsabkommens zwischen dem Israel Institute of Technology und der Universität Kassel statt.

Weiterlesen...

11.07.2016 - 12:01

Neues Projekt: Quantengeld und Nanosensoren

Auch für unser neues Projekt "Quantengeld und Nanosensoren" wurde die finanzielle Unterstützung durch die Volkswagen Stiftung genehmigt.

Weiterlesen...

11.07.2016 - 12:00

Neues Projekt: QD MIXEL

Finanzielle Unterstützung durch die DGF für unser neues Projekt "fs-Pulserzeugung mit MIXSEL (modelocker integrated external cavity surface emitting laser) auf der Basis von Quantenpunkt-Verstärker-und Absorber-Elementen" wurde genehmigt.

Weiterlesen...

Nano Optics

Gruppen-Mitglieder

Gruppenleiter:  Mohamed Benyoucef
Doktoranden:  Andrei Kors, Patrick Krawiec, Matusala Yacob, Muhammad Usman
Masterstudenten:  Birk Fritsch, Lucas Rickert, Adnan Sayyed

Zielsetzung

Die Forschungsgruppe konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung von neuartigen und fortgeschrittenen Quanten Architekturen, welche mittels Molekularstrahlepitaxie auf Si, GaAs, (flach und vorstrukturierten) und InP-Substraten hergestellt werden, und der Untersuchung ihrer spezifischen Aspekte der Quantenoptik. Das Erste, die Integration von Quantenpunkten auf Silizium, gilt als eines der Schlüsseltechnologien, um die Vorteile beider Materialien zu kombinieren, und damit eine äußerst vielseitige Hybrid-Photonik-Plattform zu bilden, die dadurch den Weg der photonischen Integration im großen Maßstab eröffnet. Das Letztere könnte die Implementierung von effizienten Einzelphotonenquellen für die sichere Übertragung von Daten über große Distanzen“

 

Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Herstellung (Wachstum und Bearbeitung) und der Untersuchung der grundlegenden Strukturen sowie der optischen Eigenschaften von einzelnen Quanten-Nanoarchitekturen, der Integration von III-V-Halbleiterlichtquellen auf Silizium, der Herstellung und Charakterisierung von Mikrokavitäten (z.B., photonische Kristalle) in Kombination mit integrierten Quantenpunkten und der Bearbeitung von nanostrukturierten Oberflächen für optische Elemente.

Projekte

BMBF-Projekt "Q.com"

Forschungsaktivitäten

  • Epitaktisches Wachstum von Halbleiter-Nanostrukturen auf verschiedenen Substraten mittels MBE-Anlagen
  • Entwicklung von Einzelphotonenquellen im Bereich der Telekommunikationswellenlängen für die Quantenkommunikation über große Distanzen
  • Entwicklung von Quantenpunktemission im Telekombereich für die Spin-Speicherung

  • Integration einzelner InAs/GaAs Kern-Schale Quantenpunkte in Silizium

  • Verarbeitung von nanostrukturierten Oberflächen für die Realisierung von deterministischen optischen Elementen

  • Herstellung und Untersuchung von Mikroresonator Strukturen (z.B. Säulen Resonatoren, photonische Kristalle)

  • Studien zu strukturellen Eigenschaften von selbstorganisierten Quantenpunkten

  • Studien zu Licht-Materie-Wechselwirkungen auf Nanoskala von Festkörper Quantensystemen

 

 InP-basierte Quantenpunkte:

(a) µ-PL spectrum from single InP-based quantum dot (QD). The inset shows the 2x2 µm2 2D AFM image of low density QDs. (b) Single-photon emission at telecom wavelengths from single InP-based QDs (in cooperation with Uni. Stuttgart). (c) Coherent properties of single InP-based

(a) μ-PL-Spektrum von einem einzelnen InP-basierten Quantenpunkt (QP). Der Einschub zeigt das 2x2 μm2 2D AFM-Bild von QP geringer Dichte. (b) Einzelphotonenemission im Telekommunikationswellenlängenbereich von einem InP-basierten QP (in Kooperation mit der Uni. Stuttgart). (c) Kohärente Eigenschaften einzelner InP-basierten QP (in Kooperation mit der Uni. Paderborn). (d) Die gemessenen Elektron (volle Quadrate) und Loch (offene Kreise) g-Faktoren für QP, welche im Telekommunikationswellenlängenbereich emittieren (in Kooperation mit der TU Dortmund).

 
Literatur:

 

 InP-basierte Photonische Kristallstrukturen:



(a) μ-PL-Spektren des L3 photonischen Kristallen (PK) Mikroresonator bei 10 K (rote Linie) und 300 K (schwarze Linie) mit einer Laseranregungsleistung von 70 μW. (b) μ-PL-Spektren des L3 PK Mikroresonator: schwarze Linie ohne Polarisation, rote Linie mit horizontaler Polarisation und blaue Linie mit vertikaler Polarisation. Einsätze: SEM-Bild des L3 PK Mikroresonator. (c) μ-PL-Spektren eines einzigen QPktes bei drei verschiedenen Laserleistungen aufgenommen, zeigt exzitonische (X) und biexzitonische (XX) Emissionslinien. (d) X- und XX-PL-Intensitäten als Funktion der Laseranregungsleistung. Die gepunkteten und gestrichelten Linien passen sich einer Steigung von 0,8 und 1,7 an. (e) X und XX Übergänge aufgezeichnet bei 0° (rot) und 90° (schwarz) Polarisationswinkel, zeigt verschwindende Feinstrukturaufspaltung.


Literatur:


Silizium-basierte Qauntenpunkte:



Links: InAs QP eingebettet in einer Siliziummatrix (in Kooperation mit PDI Berlin). Rechts: Lichtemission von einzelnen InAs/GaAs Kern-Schale QP direkt auf Silizium aufgewachsen.

Literatur:

 

  GaAs-basierte Quantenpunkte:


  (a & b) Einzelphotonemission und X Lebensdauer von einzelnen QP aufgewachsen mittels Droplet-Epitaxie (in Kooperation mit HU Berlin).(c) Qualitätsfaktorerhöhung in gekoppelten Resonatoren (in Kooperation mit der Uni. Magdeburg und IFW Dresden).


Literatur:

 

   

Räumlich-kontrollierte Quantenpunkte auf vorstrukturierten GaAs und Silizium Substraten:


Links: Räumliche-kontrollierte QP auf GaAs Substraten. Rechts: III-V Nanostrukturen lokalisiert in vorstrukturierten Silizium Nanolöchern.


  Literatur:

 

© INA 2017. Version: 15.11.2017 - Impressum | Sitemap | RSS-Feed